goals

Goals

One of my favorite types of blog posts is the ‘goals for the year’ post. In typical ADHD fashion, I’m late for the year (it’s already February, yo). I keep toying with writing, blogging, and crafting on a regular basis. As you can see in my archives, sometimes I’m successful, & often I skip out for quite extended bits of time (sorry that’s not terribly encouraging, but it’s true). So. Goals. Here we go:

1. Don’t limit myself to specific subjects. Write what I’m thinking about & what is inspiring at the moment.  Since I’m currently in ‘Career Transition’, there will  probably be a lot of knitting posts.
2. Schedule at least three posts per week.  Five would be better, but I’m still learning how to write without sounding like a complete narcissist or asshole. I’m sure at some point I will show my prejudices, privilege, and ridiculousness.  But for now, I’m shooting for 3 times a week at minimum.
3. Keep the kids off the blog. They aren’t featured often here and while it’s hard not to write about all the cute snuggles, sayings, etc. I do want to keep this more of a grown up space.  It’s okay to share them on other social media or mention them, but no face pictures from here on out. I’m not a mommy blogger & I’m not sure how this blog will evolve anyway.  It started out as a beginner knitting blog and I was terrible keeping up with my knitting stories and posting.  To be fair I did start it way back in the dinosaur days when a person had to take pictures and manually upload them to the computer.  Thank you technology for making life easier!
4. Write something every day, even if it’s just a draft. IMPROVE and listen to criticism constructively.
5. Take more pictures and IMPROVE. This is a big one. I am pretty visual and while I love photography, I’m by no means a professional nor do I strive to become a professional.  But it would be nice if I didn’t cringe when I look at the photos I post.  I’ve also never been one to have actual photos lying around.  Generally, those pictures are hiding somewhere in a roll I never developed or on a device that I’ve lost all the cords to or a phone that a child has dumped in a glass of water (true story).
6. Write out my patterns, even if they’re just notes on a post.  I someday want to actually write patterns to either sell or give away.  Right now, I just want to practice writing them out.
7. Switch to wordpress.org.  I’m not sure when this is going to happen, but it’s going to be this year.  I want a Pinterest plugin.  BAD.  HAHA!  I’m only halfway kidding.  But I do want to take this hobby a little bit more seriously and see if it goes anywhere.  The first step is to actually make it a bit more professional and according to the advice on the great wide interwebs, hosting is the next logical step.

I have more things I’d like to do in the coming months, but for now, I’m thinking this is a good place to start.  Cheers!

Standard

2 thoughts on “Goals

Leave a Reply

