Sweaters

Deciding on Downtown.

Don’t you just love the feelings you get when you’re searching for your next project?  I love being surprised by the things that catch my eye, remembering older projects that I might just be ready to try out, and all the giddiness & smiling I do when I’m drooling over patterns…

And then…that moment.  The one when you decide this pattern is THE ONE.  Most Recently, this has happened to me with Downtown Block by Veera Valimaki.

Image from Ravelry

There were many things to consider when picking out this project. I think I’m going to sign on for another of luvinthemommyhood’s KAL’s.  But I’m still working on my top from the Tops, Tanks, and Tees KAL.  Granted, I only have about two inches left, but I certainly didn’t finish in time.  So if I do go ahead and sign up for this one, I decided I should set some limits.

I wanted something with little to no seaming.

I wanted top-down construction so that I can try it on as I go.

The sweater has to call for at least worsted weight yarn meaning NO fingering/lace sweaters or tiny needles. As much as I love them, my knitting time is limited with the infant.  And while he is ‘letting’ me knit for about an hour a day, that’s no where near enough time to complete a sock yarn sweater (sorry Georgia).

Price. This is a biggie for me.  I love expensive yarns…but I live in the real world of a small budget, so the sweater had to be something that would look good with my beloved Cascade.

It had to be a cardigan or a wrap.  No pullovers.  I’m still sporting quite a bit of baby weight and won’t lose it for a while.  I’m not a fan of bulky clothing but I’m also not a fan of showing off extra curves.  At this point in my life, it’s time to knit something I can wear no matter what my body shape and still feel good about myself.

All of this led me to Downtown.  I’ve purchased my pattern & yarn.  I’ve swatched and have my needles ready.  I’ve got a start date.

Now I’m going to go finish up my Chiton Pullover.

😉

Standard

One thought on “Deciding on Downtown.

Leave a Reply

