Uncategorized

That Damn Katniss Cowl

Now don’t get me wrong.  I LOVE the Katniss/District12/Huntress cowls/Vests that have taken the knitting interwebs by storm.  Here is one of my favorites created by Amy Hallock:

Image Source:  Ravelry

Image Source: Ravelry Katniss Cowl With Vest by Amy Hallock
http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/katniss-cowl-with-vest

 However, this also means that there is a Lions Brand Super Bulky/Chunky Shortage (WOES) since EVERYONE is making this thing.  I don’t know how many of my friends have randomly texted me to ask if I had seen ‘the cowl/shield thing Katniss wears in the beginning of the movie’.  I’m flattered and happy that I have friends that see knitty things and I’m their go-to person for knitty questions.  But woes, I just want some bulky yarn that doesn’t cost a billion dollars a skein.  This is my season for super chunky warm knits.  I’m in the Midwest where we have the ‘Polar Vortex’ happening (maybe you’ve heard of it?).  So, to those hoarding the LB Super Bulky, have pity.  I’m cold.

Standard